Twenty Three Goals for 23

As you all know, my birthday just passed, since then I have been doing a lot of thinking about where I am in life. Honestly, I didn’t want to turn 23, not only because 22 is my favorite number lol but it was a really good year for me and I didn’t want it to end. Anyway, while I was thinking I just wrote down things I wanted to change and accomplish this year. I decided to do 23 so I can share with you all.

23 goals I want to achieve while being 23

1. Blog/post more often

I love blogging on here and finding new experiences to share. I often find myself in a rut about what to talk about or say. But this blog motivates me to go out and have experiences and memories just so I can write about them. I also want to be able to express myself better though writing and blogging is helping me with that too.

2.Work on my confidence

Confidence is really big and should be for everyone. It really does affect you in big ways. Being confident could get you places or can stop you from going places. I struggle with this a bit and I want to be fearless of the world and stop caring what anyone is going to think in order to make myself happy. Being confident also shows in your personality and is a good trait (in moderation, of course). I want to be able to believe in myself and take action on the things I want to do in life without hesitation.

3. Self-love/Discovery

This goes with confidence but I consider it to be its own category. This is super important for everyone as well. It’s something that has become more of a topic nowadays and it is important because if you don’t love yourself how do you expect anyone else to? In order to be with anyone else you need to learn the ins and outs of yourself first and know how to make yourself happy. Happiness really does come from WITHIN. You’ve probably heard that many times before but it’s true. No one can make you happy but yourself. Don’t rely on anyone for your happiness. Learning and loving yourself helps you be at peace with life and in tune with who you are. This is something I have to work towards and I’m determined to grow and make this happen.

4. Exercise often / Eat healthier

Image-1 (2)

I signed up for the gym in March when I finally got tired of saying to myself that I need to get fit to feel better and that “I’m not feeling myself”. This has really been affecting me, in life and my relationships with people. This also goes hand in hand with eating healthier because you can’t have one without the other. Going to the gym has made me feel better and I could see the progress coming in slowly but surely. I’m not where I want to be yet, but I’m working at it and it makes me feel good.

5. Network

Networking is really important in the business industry, and probably every industry. It’s important to know people who are are experienced and know a bit more. You really never know who you can run into and who knows who. This world is way too small. I really want to be more out there and meet and network at any opportunity that comes my way.

6. Be Friendlier

Image-1 (4)

At my new job I had to learn this pretty quickly. I am a friendly person already but I get that at first glance I can be pretty unapproachable because I don’t always look happy and I’m not always smiling. I’m new and don’t know many people. I have relied on my co-worker to introduce me to so many people. Since my team works with many different clients we need to know everyone. So now I need to learn how to open up a bit more in order to get to know people and make friends so I won’t feel so isolated.

7. Eating at home/ bringing food to work

I eat out pretty much everyday at work and just to have dinner or anything really.  When I get lunch during the week at work I spend $50 a week ($200 a month) !  It’s just hard to prepare food at home for lunch, I feel like I barely have time for anything but I need to start making time. It’s fun to get excited to go home to make something new.  I want to start cooking at home more and trying out new recipes. I know this will save me a lot of money in the long run.

8. Get my clothes & shoe game up

DEFINITELY my shoe game. I always have these visions of looking so fly everyday but I’m too lazy to make it a reality. I always want to work on myself, look good, and feel better but I don’t make time for it. Well now that I’m in a big girl job I need to step it up. Make myself look good so I can feel even better. My clothes are okay, even though I want to re-vamp my wardrobe but what I really have trouble with is picking out shoes. I feel like I don’t have any that are appropriate with the any outfit and I’m just stuck using the same ones over and over. Well, I’m over that, I need to go shoe shopping and buy myself a couple pairs of good shoes that can go along with plenty of outfits. I need variety! When it comes to the outfit part, I just need to take more time out to create cuter outfits.

P.S. If any of you need a good fashion opinion/consultant check out my friend Cynthia, she’s awesome!

Cyn

Get in touch with Cynthia

9. Read More

It’s always been difficult for me to finish a book quickly. I take such a long time. It’s not because I’m uninterested it’s because reading makes me sleepy and I guess I sort of get bored easily. I do try my best to read as much as I could. Recently, I thought maybe I should change the types of books I’m reading, so I started reading self help books. Books that motivate you to do better and maybe make you feel like you’re not alone with whatever it is you’re going through. This has actually helped me. I still take a while to read them but I look forward to reading them more often because it is something that will help my life and something that is important for me. I want to make it a habit to read at least a chapter or two a day so it’ll be easier for me to get through it.

51-NFfomQmL._SX349_BO1,204,203,200_

Currently Reading: Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

10. Travel to Europe

europe

I try to travel as much as I can during the year. My parents have made my sister and I used to traveling with so many trips throughout our youth and thankfully we have grown a huge love for it. My sister gets to travel way more than I do but as you all know we have been taking a lot of sister trips so I’m catching up to her (You can read about those here: Canada, Greece, Hawaii). I do want to travel all over Europe but if I visit at least one place in Europe this year I will be a happy camper.

11.Budget Myself

I am really good when it comes to saving money and finding deals. But I waste so much of my money on ubers and food. I want to save more and make better decisions about what I waste my money on. I do need to start putting a portion of my check into my saving account regularly.

Image-1

12. Create a Side Hustle

It’s always good to have a side job that is also something you’re passionate about and can earn you some extra income. It’s can be something fun that doesn’t even feel like a job but can easily become a business of your own.

13. Go to another basketball game

I went to my first basketball game in 2015 and another in 2016. I had the most amazing time at both. I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did but now I have been wanting to go to another one.

14. Push myself out of my comfort zone

When it comes to certain things I can be pretty shy. I feel like I want put myself into awkward situations. Just so I can overcome being uncomfortable in certain situations. It’s okay to feel uncomfortable about some things but it shouldn’t be that difficult to get through them. I want to be able to overcome my insecurities.

15. Make an Official Bucket List

desk

I have a word document on my laptop listing things I want to do and places I want to visit but I haven’t looked at it in a couple of months. I want to take the time to look through it and check off things that I have already done and add anything else I am missing and start working on checking them off.

16. Take a spontaneous trip

636261367433920231423646639_giphy

I just want to plan a trip without much time before to prepare for it and just set out on an adventure and see where it takes me. Maybe a road-trip or a quick flight somewhere. We’ll see what happens.

17. Be a morning person

Image-1 (1)

I typically hate mornings. I could never get out of bed because I just feel so tired and comfortable in my bed. Once I get up it’s not so bad but I’m still a little grumpy. I want to be happy in the morning. That’s how I start my day and it should be a good thing, not something I dread.

18.  Take more videos/photos

I mean, I do take a lot of photos but lately I haven’t been taking enough of myself and a big part of that is because of how I’ve been feeling about myself but that’s going to change soon (The gym has been making me feel better). However, videos I do want to work on, only because I do travel a lot and I love making memories. When I travel I want to be able to make travel videos about the highlights of my trip just because it can be an easier way to save the memory and show others about my voyages.

19. Learn how to communicate effectively

I have a big communication problem with most of my relationships with people. It’s hard for me to tell someone what I’m feeling because I rather just keep it to myself. I know this is a really bad thing and has gotten me into trouble in the past and I always tell myself I will get better but I don’t put any effort to. I want to finally get better at communicating my feelings and being as honest as I can be no matter what. If that starts an argument? That’s okay. I can’t be scared of telling people how I feel about anything because I’m harming myself in the end. Anything can be solved, I just need to speak up.

20. Learn to say ‘no’

Image-1 (3)

Sometimes, I feel like I’m too nice to people and that I’m being taken advantage of because of this. It can get overwhelming sometimes. I need to learn to say no to things I don’t want to do. Yes, it’s nice to make my friends happy sometimes but not if it’s going to make me unhappy. Even if I have no money to go to a brunch I’m not going to force myself to go and become broke in the process just because I don’t want to miss out. There will be other opportunities, it’s okay not to attend e v e r y t h i n g.

21. Grow thicker skin

I can be such a baby at times. I need to learn how to take things and not let it affect the rest of my day or my decisions. It’s hard for me because it’s nice when people agree and everything is good. But I know that won’t be everyday and for those days I want to learn how to take it and keep it going. People are not always going to agree with our decisions or how we think and everyone has their own opinions. Instead of taking it as criticism just learn from it, take it into consideration, even if it’s not what you want to hear.

22. Keep up with others

Lately, my sister and I have been talking about family and friends and we have realized that we don’t know about their current lives as much as we should or as much as the rest of the family does. We find out new things about others through other family members. We should be talking to them ourselves. We need to become more involved in our family and friends lives.

23. Be Informed/ Up to Date

I don’t feel like I keep up to date with things happening around the world. Sometimes, I know that there is something going on but I do not take the time out to understand it or look into it. I want to be more informed so I can understand what others are talking about and be able to join the conversation when it is brought up.  Not only to know but I could possibly make a difference myself or it can help me become more knowledgeable about something I didn’t know that is part of my everyday life.

So far, I’m off to a good start and have begun some of these goals. We’ll see where this year takes me. I’m looking forward to become a better version of myself!

Say Something!

